top of page
Search
  • by Donna Luce

How do you know you have a compromise under your skin barrier?

Well, I write this because in wearing the guard 24-7, I don't have situations where I can visually see output finding its way all the way out to the edge of the skin barrier that I wear. This is because the guard holds my appliance firmly against my skin preventing output from going that far. Generally, if I have a compromise, it is limited to the area immediately surrounding the stoma and I can't see through the thick barrier, which by name, is called the hydrocolloid. This can happen after several days from breakdown of the paste/barrier ring. My skin will alert me by an itchy feeling that doesn't let up, unlike what you might experience on other parts of your body that you feel an itch, you scratch it, and the feeling subsides. Sometimes it doesn't feel itchy, but instead has a pain sensation. I have learned to pay attention from the moment I feel either of these feelings, and will change my appliance promptly to avoid any skin irritation that may develop.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page